Menu +

South scores win in Nevada economic development effort

Written By:

Richard N. Velotta

The Governor's Office of Economic Development has designated 10 organizations from across the state, including a Southern Nevada group, as regional development authorities under Gov. Brian Sandoval's economic development plan.

As expected, the organization calling itself the Las Vegas Regional Economic Development Council — a collaboration between the Nevada Development Authority, the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce and several municipalities — was among the selections.

Officials have said the Southern Nevada group would get the bulk of the state's economic development funding because it generates 70 percent of the state's economy and is home to 70 percent of the state's residents.

The LVREDC is chaired by Las Vegas City Manager Betsy Fretwell. Other members include Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Kristin McMillan; Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce Chairman Kevin Orrock; Glenn Christenson, chairman of the Nevada Development Authority's board of directors; Clark County Commissioner Susan Brager; Clark County Manager Don Burnette; Henderson Councilwoman Debra March; North Las Vegas Mayor Shari Buck; North Las Vegas City Manager Tim Hacker; UNLV President Neal Smatresk; and College of Southern Nevada President Mike Richards.